My Reaction To Getting Laid-Off The First Time

#saywhat
#saywhat

I was 22 years old and eight months fresh out of college when I was laid off for the first time from a small lifestyles magazine. It was pretty painless to those watching, but I know for a fact my ego had a ‘Say Whhaaattt’? expression that went on longer than it should. My mind started firing off all the nasty words I wanted to share with my boss on how his management style sucked harder than a vacuum (no wonder you’re losing money!). I wanted to show that I could walk out with my head held high even though I was an intimidated and insecure 22-year-old.

This was the reality check I needed because I was an insufferably smug classmate. I landed the magazine position one month before graduation and humble-bragged my way into conversations I had with my classmates because I could. After the thousandth eye roll I got, we all graduated and I lost touch with them all.
 
When I got laid-off, I facebook-stalked my former classmates to see what they were all up to. The majority of them were excelling in their careers and doing exceptionally well, while I was sitting behind my computer eating a whopping spoonful of humble pie.
 
Karma is real kids. And it’s a mean bitch.

Leave a Reply

