Post-Job Interview Mind Fuck

Me post-job interview
Me post-job interview

Job interviews generally suck (for me, anyway). You’re put on the hot seat and grilled for your industry knowledge and experience. And if you’re anything like me, when I’m the centre of attention for more than five minutes at a time, I sweat. Profusely. When the beaded drops aggressively show up as a sweatstashe or roll down the side of my face and leap off my jaw line, I know I’m hooped and will probably never hear from the interviewer(s) again. I mean, who wants an uncontrollable sweaty co-worker?
 
But what’s worse is the mental mind fuck that comes post-interview. You become an overly obsessive, anxious version of yourself that makes you and everyone around you uncomfortable. Your thoughts betray you and play games on you. These are some of the thoughts that have gone through my head post-interview:

He didn’t write any notes down during the interview. The interviewer never asked for my salary expectations? Fuck, I didn’t get the job. Her body language gave off an ‘I’m not impressed’ vibe. Do I send a thank you email right now? It’s been a week and still no answer. How long should I wait to send a follow-up email or phone call? I’ll wait a few more days to follow-up because I don’t want to come across as needy and impatient. It’s been two days since I sent that follow-up email and still no response. They must be busy, right? My email/phone must not be working properly, right?

 
Maybe I’m naive with how things work in the corporate world, but I always appreciate when a hiring manager sends a follow-up to all the candidates he or she interviewed. It gives each candidate an official answer and it shows that the interviewer respects each candidate for taking the time to prepare beforehand and meet for the interview.
 
If I don’t hear from the interviewer at all, I subconsciously blacklist them and the company and get turned off by them forever. It may be petty, especially if a job offer at said company presents itself down the road, but not replying to interviewed candidates reveals to me that the company’s core values are probably not in line with mine.

Leave a Reply

