My First Seven Jobs

Hardly working.
Hardly working.

Late to the game, but I thought I’d give the #firstsevenjobs a try. Now that my past jobs are laid out in list format, I’m pretty impressed with myself that there’s variety, or it could just mean that I had no damn clue what I wanted to do with my life.

  1. Peer Counsellor at 14 – To this day I still have no idea why I was even hired to be a peer counsellor. At 14, nonetheless. I barely understood myself and what was going on inside my head and any time a peer came to talk to me, we just goofed off and I probably did more harm than good.
  2. Tutor to high school kids – This was a so-so gig. I met some cool people who really needed my help and it always felt good when I could. But like being a Peer Counsellor, I often wasted precious learning time by goofing off with my charge. Plus, I got paid under the table.
  3. Part-Time Sales Associate at American Eagle – I thought I was all that when I told my friends I was working at the place for college kids. I felt important and grown up. In reality, it was a soul-sucking experience because I had six managers on the floor at any given time and neither of them could agree with one another. Imagine the confusion it caused all employees.
  4. Custom-Frame maker – This was a fun gig. I got to see the different art work people would bring in and talk to them about how they wanted to display it. This was when I realized I wanted to do something creative for a living.
  5. Junior writer at a lifestyle magazine – I was one month away from graduating when I landed this job. It helped that I interned at the place. I was super grateful when a lot of my classmates were struggling to find meaningful post-college work.
  6. Self-employeed – I was 22 and decided to be self-employed in the e-commerce world to see where it could take me. It lasted for three years, learned a lot, but lost a shit ton of money.
  7. Marketing coordinator – I fell into marketing by chance and never looked back. I don’t have a degree in marketing, but so what. Marketing is one of those industries where I feel experience trumps education.

What were your first seven jobs?

Leave a Reply

