What Do You Do Outside of Work?

Say What?
Say What?

I got asked this question last week when I was washing my bowl in the communal kitchen after having lunch. The question took me by surprise because it was unprompted without any of the typical superficial pre conversation like “How’s your week going? or Did you know Janet from Finance called in sick again in two weeks. Somebody’s getting F-I-R-E-D” and its ilk. So excuse me when it took me a long 10 seconds and a confused blank stare to reply. The exchange went something like this:

COWORKER: What do you do outside of Work?
CONFUSED ME:
CONFUSED ME: Um … what do you mean?
RUDE AF COWORKER: Well, I just wanted to know what you do outside of work because it doesn’t seem like you do much but work all the time. What do you do for fun?
ANGRY ME: I go hiking with my boyfriend, workout, read, and other boring stuff … HAHAHAHAHAHA
RUDE AF COWORKER: Oh, you don’t look like a hiker. Well, I gotta get back to work.
 
This is the exchange I would have preferred:
 
RUDE COWORKER: What do you do outside of Work?
ME: Um … what do you mean?
RUDE AF COWORKER: Well, I just wanted to know what you do outside of work because it doesn’t seem like you do much but work all the time. What do you do for fun?
ANGRY ME: I work a lot because it’s my job to make sure the company gets its promotions and campaigns out on time to make money. By doing so, it ensures you also keep your job, which I don’t know why you still have it because every time I walk by your office, you’re either talking to your boyfriend or shopping online for your next pair of tacky shoes and bag. By the way, what do you do again?

Leave a Reply

