When Managers Gossip

Bunch of gossips.
Bunch of gossips.

I’ll admit, I like a good gossip session when it doesn’t involve me (is that even fair to say?). And I think it’s perfectly okay when co-workers who are equals gossip as a way to relieve stress or bond. But I can’t get behind managers who gossip with subordinates about other employees in the office.
 
When I see this happen my mind starts to think that I’m the one being gossiped about and it doesn’t help when all whispering ceases when I’m in close proximity – then again, it could happen to anyone walking by because gossips don’t want to be heard. DUH!
 
I think managers who gossip with subordinates set a dangerous example and it can be viewed negatively. The weak pact that gets tossed around: “You can’t tell anyone this” never works. If the gossip is good, it’ll come out sooner than later. That type of gossip can be seen as favouritism, conspiring against someone, rude, and unprofessional. All of those views and emotions can snowball into a big cluster fuck of messiness. Will jobs be on the line? Maybe.

In the end, gossiping is a discretionary act. If you choose to partake in it, just be mindful of how might be perceived and how it could affect your professional life.
 
And as much as I think my boss is a ding dong with crispy fake blonde hair, she doesn’t engage in gossip with any one at work. This I can sign up for and admire. I’m sure once she’s away from the office, her mouth does not hold back.
 
I’m starting a positivity exercise where I refrain from gossip and complaining for 21 days to turn it into a habit. It would be great if you could all join me. There are five easy steps to the exercise:

  1. For two minutes everyday, write down three things you are grateful for.
  2. At the end of each day, for two minutes write down one positive experience during the last 24 hours.
  3. Sweat it out. Doesn’t matter how.
  4. Breathe. Stop what you’re doing and just focus on your breathing for two minutes.
  5. Express kindness and gratitude in the form of email, text, or in-person to someone new everyday.

Email me at officeranter16@gmail.com and tell me your progress.

Leave a Reply

