Am I Bitch For Not Donating Money to Your Kid’s Fundraiser?

BITCH!
BITCH!

Sorry, but I don’t want to donate money to your husband’s hockey fundraiser or your kid’s school this year or any year. It’s not because I can’t afford it, but it’s because I find it all too invasive and impersonal. It makes for some awkward conversation when you’re standing across my desk and shoving the donation box in my face, but won’t leave my office when I’ve clearly indicated that I’m not interested in donating.
 
To me, the work place is not the place or environment to be asking for money of any kind. Call me a skeptic, but how do I know the fundraiser is legit and not used as a front to pay for the vacation that we all know you will be going on next week?
 
Plus, some people can’t afford it and don’t want to be put on the spot like they’re they bad guy for not shelling out the money they earned.
 
What would you do in this case? Any advice on how to respond diplomatically?

Leave a Reply

