#ShitMyCoworkerSays: April 24 – 28

Delete! Delete! Delete!

I think I’m really going to enjoy working at my new job because I can bank all of the dumb shit my coworkers say and lay it out for you on Office Ranter. Come to think of it, my new job is a gold mine.
 
UPDATE: If you read my post from last week, I’m happy to announce that another Canadian was hired, although for a different department.
 
Anyway, moving on to this week’s #ShitMyCoworkerSays post. And as always I want to hear your stories and rants. Send submissions to officeranter16@gmail.com. Please and thank you.
 
SCENARIO 1
 
Context: Three days into my new job, I felt I could peg who the micro managers were, regardless of title, by the way they hovered over peers and barked orders like the stick up their butt holes were causing splinters. But there was one colleague who surprised me. Hierarchy-wise, she was on the same level as me. She appeared “normal” and was really easy to talk to. There was one time I asked her where I could find certain documents. She came over to my desk to show me the pathway and she mentioned that she sent me an email with an article that pertained to my current project. I took a look at it, bookmarked the article, then deleted the email. BIG MISTAKE!

#ShitMyCoworkerSays: You’re not going to do anything with it? You deleted my email? You should never delete emails. Just save them or archive them because you never know when you’ll need it again. I can’t believe you delete emails.
 
Me: I bookmarked the page and made a note of it. Thanks.
 
#ShitMyCoworkerSays (proceeding to take my mouse from me): Here, you should create folders in your inbox like this to categorize your emails accordingly. I’m only trying to help you.

If there is anything I hate more than a micro manager, it’s someone who says I’m only trying to help you. NO! You’re not trying to help me. What you’re trying to do is make me hate you and it’s working. Don’t be surprised to find all of your emails and folders deleted.

Leave a Reply

